Museum van Loon

POINTS OF INTEREST

Museum van Loon

Once home to one of Rembrandt's most successful students, Ferdinand Bol, this house and its twin, No. 674 next door, were built in 1672 by Adriaan Dortsman and extensively remodeled in the 18th century by Abraham van Hagan and his wife, Catherina Tripp, whose names are entwined in the ornate brass balustrade on the staircase. No. 672 was occupied by the Van Loon family from 1886 to 1960. After extensive restoration to return it to its glory of the 18th century, the house was opened as a museum in the 1970s. The elegant salons include many Van Loon portraits and possessions, including paintings known as witjes, or grisailles, illusionistic depictions of landscapes and other scenes. The symmetrical garden is a gem. Facing the rear of the house, the restored Grecian-style coach house holds the coaches collection and serves tea.

BACK TO EASTERN CANAL RING

Ready for a trip of a lifetime to Amsterdam?

CONTACT US TODAY