Mozes en Aäronkerk

POINTS OF INTEREST

Mozes en Aäronkerk

Landmarking the eastern corner of the Waterlooplein flea market, this structure once had a warehouse facade to disguise its function as a clandestine Catholic church. If this rarely used church could speak, it would name-drop the great philosopher Spinoza (it was built on the location of his birth house) and Hungarian composer Franz Liszt (it hosted a recital of his that he considered his all-time best). Originally built in the 1640s, it was rebuilt in 1841 by architect T. F. Suys, then refurbished in 1969. The name of the church refers to the figures adorning two gable stones of the original edifice, now seen in the rear wall. In a rare move in a rapidly secularizing country where churches are sometimes turned into carpet stores or bowling alleys, the Mozes en Aäronkerk was reconsecrated in 2014, after a hiatus of 34 years. It's used today by the Catholic Community of Sant'Egidio.

BACK TO NIEUWMARKT

Ready for a trip of a lifetime to Amsterdam?

CONTACT US TODAY