House of the Binns

POINTS OF INTEREST

House of the Binns

The 17th-century general "Bloody Tam" Dalyell (c. 1599–1685) transformed a fortified stronghold into a gracious mansion, the House of the Binns (the name derives from bynn, the old Scottish word for hill). The present exterior dates from around 1810 and shows a remodeling into a kind of mock fort with crenellated battlements and turrets. Inside, magnificent plaster ceilings are done in the Elizabethan style.

BACK TO SOUTH QUEENSFERRY

Ready for a trip of a lifetime to Edinburgh And The Lothians?

CONTACT US TODAY